<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jun 3, 2022



 PBA Season 47 opens on June 5 and it will be a star-studded, week-long festivities to highlight the biggest, re-energized, most intense PBA season yet!!!!

After the successful run of the Governor's Cup Season 46, with the Finals series hitting record breaking ratings and audience shares since 2016 and attracting one of the biggest live crowd attendance, the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) continues to evolve and rise mightier as it kicks off  Season 47 with a week-long lineup of star-studded and spectacular festivities leading to the grand season opening on June 5 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Airing live on TV5, One Sports and Cignal TV’s PBA Rush, PBA Season 47 becomes one of the most highly anticipated comebacks among basketball enthusiasts hungry for hardcourt action.

Leading up to the June 5 Opening Ceremonies is a week-long trail of activities for the PBA — starting with a press conference on May 30, Pre-Season TV Specials on June 1 and 3 (airing at 6:00 pm on TV5 & PBA Rush), an Officials Meeting & Media Day on June 2, and a fireworks display on June 4. 

The Leo Awards and the much-awaited PBA Season 47 Opening on June 5 will be aired live on TV5, One Sports, and Cignal TV’s PBA Rush.

To kick things off, the PBA Season 46 Leo Awards will be taking place as a pre-event to the Season 47 opening ceremony. The awarding ceremonies will be hosted by none other than sportscaster and former national athlete Denise Tan and sports journalist Jutt Sulit.

This award-giving body allows PBA to continue its tradition and honor last season’s standouts, recognizing the recipients of the following categories: Most Valuable Player, Mythical Selection, Rookie of the Year, All-Defensive Team, Most Improved Player, and Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

PBA fans can look forward to the opening ceremonies hosted by TV personality and former volleyball star Gretchen Ho and comedian-actor Vhong Navarro.

ALso featuring celebrity performances by Lovi Poe, Buganda Drumline, G-Force dancers, Born to be a Star winner Jehramae Trangia, One Voice Children’s Choir, POPinoy winners, and Sing Galing Kantastic 6.


This season’s campaign, “Game Tayo Dito!”, highlights the all-new level of intensity and the competitiveness the teams are bringing. 

A campaign that resonates to the basketball game, the players, the league, the broadcast team and most especially to the fans. Nothing can stop the PBA from shooting up to greater heights as the passion for the game forges on. 

Now back to its original three full conferences format, stay tuned to TV5, One Sports, and Cignal TV’s PBA Rush for the most thrilling PBA action this Season 47.