<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

May 8, 2017

The Philippines Win Big At The AIFFA 2017, With Anna Capri And Ricky Davao Winning Best Supporting Acting Awards & Louie Ignacio As Best Director

ASIDE FROM AI AI DE LAS Alas, the Philippines really won big at the AIFFA 2017 where the trophies are called Hornbill Award. Louie Ignacio won best director also for the film “Area”, Ricky Davao as best supporting actor for “Dayang Asu”, Anna Capri as best supporting actress for “Laut”, Lawrence Fajardo for best editing in “Imbisibol” and Lav Diaz, special honor for “Babaeng Humayo”. That’s a total of six trophies!

ASEAN countries that participated this year include Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam (which won the best picture award for “Way Station”), Singapore, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia and Myanmar. The awards night were hosted by Filipino TV hosts Marc Nelson and Rovilson Fernandez, with performers from Malaysia, Indonesia, and the Philippines (singer Jason Dy.) The Philippine delegation included FDCP Chair Liza Dino Seguerra, Nora Aunor, Cherie Gil, Allen Dizon (a best actor nominee for “Area”), Benjamin Alves, Anna Luna, Bernardo Bernardo, Marlo Mortel and producer Ferdie Lapuz. To all the winners, congratulations!