<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Nov 17, 2015

And Here Are The Winners In The 2015 Cinema One Originals Film Festival

THE 2015 CINEMA ONE ORIGINALS FILMFEST had its awards night last Sunday at Dolphy theatre and the animated film, "Manang Biring", by Carl Joseph Papa, about a dying old woman who prepares for the return of her estranged daughter, won as best picture with a cash prize of P300,000 plus the special champion Bughaw Award that also has a cash prize of P100,000.

Winner of the Audience Choice Award is the family comedy "Baka Siguro Yata" which has a P100,000 cash prize. Neophyte actor Dino Pastrano won the best actor for his debut performance as the son of Ricky Davao and Cherie Gil who got his girlfriend pregnant.

"Hamog", Ralston Jover's drama about street children called 'mga batang hamog' won the Special Jury Prize, plus the best actress award for child star Therese Malvar (she also won best actress before in CineFilipino for "Huling Cha Cha ni Anita"), best supporting actor award Bor Lentejas and best editing for Charliebebs Gohetia.

Other winners are Chai Fonacier as best supporting actress for "Miss Bulalacao", Bor Ocampo as best director for "Dayang Asu", Ara Chawdhury for best screenplay ("Miss Bulalacao"), Albert Banzon for best cinematography ("Dayang Asu"), Dino Christopher Parafina for best musical score ("Manang Biring"), Harley Alcasid for best production design ("Bukod Kang Pinagpala") and Jess Carlos for best sound ("Bukod Kang Pinagpala").

The Cinema One filmfest has nine full length entries. Those who didn't win any single award are "Dahlin' Nick" by Sari Dalena, "Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso" by Raymond Red and "The Comeback" by Andrew Payawal.