<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jun 6, 2013

Karylle And New BF Yael Yuzon Are Fighting Each Other

KARYLLE AND current beau Yael Yuzon are up against each other, competing as song interpreters in the 2nd Philippine Popular Music Festival led by future National Artist Ryan Cayabyab. Karylle’s entry is “Sa’Yo Na Lang Ako”, written by Lara Maigue, while Yael (the vocalist of Sponge Cola) sings Paul Armesin’s “Segundo”. What can Yael say about this?

“As interpreters, we’re here not really to compete but just to help push the local music industry and have a great night,” he says. “I’m really happy just to be here and be part of this celebration of original Pilipino music from very talented composers and interpreters.”

“Let’s just enjoy the music,” says Karylle. “I’m glad OPM is on the rise and I’m happy to be riding on this wave. I’d also like to thank Lara for making me sing her song and be a part of this music festival.”

This is truly an awesome batch. We listened to the CD they gave us and many of the songs, given the right airplay, are potential hits. The other 10 entries are Marlon Barnuevo’s “Araw Ulap Langit” sung by Christian Bautista, Genny Brown’s “Askal” sung by Jose Manalo and Wally Bayola, Thyro Alfaro and Yumi Lacsamana’s “Dati” sung by Sam Concepcion, Tippy Dos Santos and the Quest band, Johnoy Danao’s “Kung Di Man” sung by Ney Dimaculangan, Jungee Marcelo’s “Pansamantagal” sung by Sitti Navarro (who was a no show at the presscon) and Julianne Tarroja, Joey Ayala’s “Papel” sung by him with Gloc 9 and Denise Barbacena, Myrus Apacible’s “Sana Pinatay Mo Na Lang Ako” sung by Kimpoy Feliciano, Adrienne Buenaventura and Nino Regalado’s “Sometimes That Happens” sung by Ace Libre, Raffy Calicdan’s “Space” sung by Kean Cipriano with Banda ni Kleggy and Kennard Faraon’s “Time Machine” sung by Six Part Invention.

The winner gets P1 million cash and a Ramon Orlina trophy. You can hear the songs on philpop.com.ph, Philpopmusic’s youtube and FB accounts. You can then vote for your favorite entry to win the Smart People’s Choice Special Award that will win P100,000 through Smart, Talk n Text and Sun. The finals night will be held at the Meralco Theatre on July 20, to be telecast on TV5.