<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Dec 24, 2020



THERE’S NO annual parade of stars due to the pandemic but the Metro Manila Filmfest  committee held a virtual parade shown online featuring the ten film entries in this years festival to be shown streaming on Upstream.ph.

The affair was held last Wednesday afternoon, hosted by Giselle Sanchez and comedians Lassy and MC Muah. 

The first entry to be called is “Isa Pang Bahaghari” and, unfortunately, lead stars Nora Aunor and Phillip Salvador are both now shows. Cast members present on screen are Michael de Mesa, Sanya Lopez, Albie Casino, with director Joel Lamangan and producers Harlene Bautista and Dennis Evangelista.

Second entry is “Pakboys, Takusa” of Viva Films. Lead actors Janno Gibbs, Andrew E, Dennis Padilla and Jerald Napoles were all present, along with leading ladies Ana Roces, Angelu de Leon, Maui Taylor

Third entry is the Boys Love BL movies, “The Boy Foretold by the Stars”, with lead actor Adrian Lindayag and writer-director Dolly Dulu who are together in one frame on screen.

Fourth entry is Regal Entertainment’s “The Missing”, the only horror entry. Lead stars Ritz Azul, Joseph Marco and Miles Ocampo were present to promote it, along with writer-director Easy Ferrer.

Fifth entry is “Suarez, The Healing Priest” and present on screen was title-roler John Arcilla, with supporting actors Marlo Mortel and Jairus Aquino, and director Joven Tan.

Sixth entry was “Mang Kepweng: Lihim ng Bandanang Itim” and on hand to promote it were Vhong Navarro, Benjie Paras, Joross Gamboa, Ritz Azul, Ryan Bang and Barbie Imperial, along with Director Topel Lee.

Seventh entry was Maverick Films’ “Coming Home” and promoting it were Jinggoy Estrada, Sylvia Sanchez, Jake Ejercito, Shaira Diaz, Edgar Allan Guzman, Martin del Rosario, Ariella Arida and Director Adolf Alix.

Eighth entry is Alternative Vision’s “Tagpuan” and on screen were lead stars Alfred Vargas, Iza Calzado, Shaina Magdayao, along with Director Mac Alejandre.

Ninth entry is Brightlight Productions’ “Magikland” and its kiddie stars are all present: Miggs Cuaderno, Elijah ALejo, Josh Eugenio and Princess Rabara, along with Bibeth Orteza, and Director Christian Acuna.

Last entry is “Fan Girl”, represented by lead stars Paulo Avelino and Charlie Dizon, with writer-director Antoinette Jadaone. 

The proceedings were marred by dismal audio, specially when it’s the turn of “Suarez” and “Coming Home” on the spolight and the sound system conked out. You just cannot hear John Arcilla and Jinggoy Estrada promoting their films.  

A lot of reporters asking questions also lost their audio and were confused as to whether they’re being heard on the air or not. 

The filmest awards night will be held on December 27 but, for the first time, the MMFF committee has already released the list of nominees ahead of schedule. And here are the nominees in the major categories: 

BEST PICTURE: The Boy Foretold By The Stars, Fan Girl, The Missing. Magikland, Tagpuan

BEST DIRECTOR: Christian Acuña (Magikland), McArthur Alejandre (Tagpuan), Dolly Dulu (The Boy Foretold By The Stars). Easy Ferrer (The Missing), Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl) 

BEST ACTRESS: Nora Aunor (Isa Pang Bahaghari), Ritz Azul (The Missing), Iza Calzado (Tagpuan), Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl), Sylvia Sanchez (Coming Home) 

BEST ACTOR: John Arcilla (Suarez: The Healing Priest), Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl), Adrian Lindayag (The Boy Foretold By The Stars), Phillip Salvador (Isa Pang Bahaghari) 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Jaclyn Jose (Mang Kepweng: Ang Lihim ng Bandanang Itim), Miles Ocampo (The Missing), Bibeth Orteza (Magikland), Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan), Rosanna Roces (Suarez: The Healing Priest) 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael de Mesa (Isa Pang Bahaghari), Jan Rey Escaño (The Boy Foretold By The Stars), Edgar Allan Guzman (Coming Home), Zanjoe Marudo (Isa Pang Bahaghari), Dante Rivero (Suarez: The Healing Priest) 

BEST CHILD PERFORMER: Janna Agoncillo (Coming Home). Miguel Gabriel Diokno (Tagpuan), Seiyo Masunaga (The Missing), Ryan Jay Obana (Tagpuan) 

BEST SCREENPLAY: The Missing (Easy Ferrer), Tagpuan (Ricardo Lee), Fan Girl (Antonette Jadaone), The Boy Foretold By The Stars (Dolly Dulu), Coming Home (Gina Marissa Tagasa) 

GENDER SENSITIVITY AWARD: Coming Home, The Boy Foretold By The Stars, Isa Pang Bahaghari 

GATPUNO ANTONIO J. VILLEGAS CULTURAL AWARD: The Boy Foretold By The Stars, Suarez: The Healing Priest, Coming Home, Isa Pang Bahaghari, Magikland 

FPJ MEMORIAL AWARD: Coming Home, Suarez: The Healing Priest, Magikland. Isa Pang Bahaghari