<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Oct 20, 2018

GMA Network Stars And Shows Win Big In The First Asian Academy Creative Awards For The National Winners Category

THE FIRST ASIAN ACADEMY CREATIVE AWARDS has announced their national winners for various Asian countries. The national winners will then compete in the international gala finals to be held at Singapore’s historic Capitol Theatre in December, to be aired by live streaming on HOOQ. The awards have been established to serve the creative industries as the pinnacle of their achievement in content creation and media production.

The Asian Academy Awards honor works from Australia & New Zealand, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. In the Philippines, GMA Network bagged the most number of awards with a total of 16 honors.

Kapuso actorsn given recognition by the AAAs are Kambal Karibal’s Miguel Tanfelix (Best Actor in a Leading Role) and Kyline Alcantara (Best Actress in a Supporting Role), and Contessa’s Gabby Eigenmann (Best Actor in a Supporting Role). Michael V. won Best Comedy Performance for his show “Pepito Manaloto”, which also won Best Comedy Program.

For News and Current Affairs, GMA won Best Infotainment Program for “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho”, while its host Jessica Soho won Best News or Current Affairs Presenter. Soho’s “State of the Nation: Marawi Liberation War is Over” won Best News Program.

Other GMA-7 shows honored were: 24 Oras: “Exclusive Report on the Rescue of Hostages in Marawi” – Best Single News Story/Report; “I-Witness: War Zone ER” – Best Current Affairs Program or Series; “Philippine Seas” – Best Documentary Program; Raffy Tima’s “Inside Marawi: A Report on 360 Video” – Best Immersive Program (360, VR); “Ika-6 Na Utos” – Best Telenovela/Soap; “The Clash” – Best Music or Dance Program; “Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko” – Best Children’s Animated Program or Series; and “Inday Will Always Love You” Launch Promo – Best Promo or Trailer

ABS-CBN got four awards. Maja Salvador was named Best Actress in a Leading Role for her show “Wildflower”. Other winners were Theodore Boborol (Best Direction – Fiction, “Araw Gabi”), “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (Best Single Drama or Telemovie) and “The Greatest Love” (Best Drama Series).

The AAAs also honored August Media’s “Tilda Appleseed” as Best 2D Animated Program or Series and Best Preschool Program, BBC’s “Philippines: Island Treasures” as Best Natural History or Wildlife Program, CNN’s “Story of the Filipino: Tuberculosis” as Best Branded, and BDA Creative Philippines’ “Disney Princess : I Dare To Dream” as Best Children’s Entertainment or Drama.

Congratulations to all the local winners. Here’s hoping they will alson win the in the international competition to be held in December.