<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jul 10, 2018

Don't Miss The Second Pista Ng Pelikulang Pilipino Showing Eight Original Entries With Action, Comedy, Drama, Romance From August 15 To 21

THE FIRST PISTA NG PELIKULANG PILIPINO was held in August of last year and it was very successful. It had 12 entries, some of which were movies that have already been shown in other local festivals like “Paglipay”, “Hamog” and “Patay na si Hesus”. One of the most acclaimed entries then was “Bar Boys”, for which Odette Khan won several best supporting actress awards in her role as a terror law professor.

But the topgrosser at the box office last year was “100 Tula Para Kay Stella”, made by Viva Entertainment, written and directed by Jason Paul Laxamana. Now, Jason is back with a bang with no less than two entries in this year’s PPP. His first entry is again from Viva, reuniting the “100 Tula” stars Bela Padilla and JC Santos in “The Day After Valentine’s Day”, with Bela as Lani, a smart young woman who helps Kai, a broken man, to fix his problematic life.

His second entry is “Bakwit Boys”, produced by T Rex Entertainment, which he calls a youth-oriented provincial musical about four brothers (Ryle Santiago, Nico Natividad, Vince Larena and Mackie Empuerto) whose home was destroyed by a super typhoon. They relocate to a province where a rich girl, played by Devon Seron, discovers their talent in singing and helps them record their songs that get played on radio.

The entries were introduced by FDCP Chair and CEO Liza Dino along with Directors Joey Reyes and Carlos Siguion Reyna of the screening and selection committee. The eight entries will be shown without any competition from foreign or Hollywood films from August 15 to 21.

The other entries are: “Ang Babaeng Allergic sa Wi-Fi” - written and directed by Jun Lana for IdeaFirst Company, a romantic comedy starring Sue Ramirez in the title role of a girl afflicted with a rare allergy to wi-fi, with Jameson Blake, Markus Patterson, Kiko Matos and Yayo Aguila.

“Madilim ang Gabi” - written and directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. for Deux Lux Mea Films. This has been shown in the last Toronto Filmfest as “Dark is the Night” and deals with the government’s war against drugs and about extra-judicial killing. It stars Gina Alajar and Phillip Salvador as a couple looking for their missing drug addicted son, Felix Roco. The powerhouse cast includes Laurice Guillen, Cherie Gil, Cherry Pie Picache, Angel Aquino, Angeli Bayani and Bembol Roco.

“Pinay Beauty” - A satire on the Filipino’s penchant for white skin and beauty pageants, this is written by Allan Habon and Rod Marmol, directed by Jay Abella for Quantum Films and Epic Media. It stars Edgar Allan Guzman as Migs, a hustler who has to settle a big debt with a loan shark who wants to meet Lovi Poe. Also starring Chai Fonacier, Janus del Prado, Hanna Ledesma, Tikoy Aguiluz, Maxine Medina. Allan Paule and Nico Antonio.

“Unli Life” - A fantasy-comedy produced by Regal Entertainment, written and directed by Miko Livelo. The trailer of this movie is the one that elicited the biggest laughs during the Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino presscon at Sequioa Hotel. Vhong Navarro plays a man rejected by his ladylove Winwyn Marquez, who then gets the chance to relive his life through various periods in our history with the help of a mysterious bartender, played by Joey Marquez, and his magic drink called Wishkey that grants wishes. Also starring Ejay Falcon, Isabelle de Leon, Dimples Romana, Joem Bascon, Epy Quizon, Jhong HIlario and Jon Lucas.

“Signal Rock” - Directed by Chito Rono for Cape Signal Rock Films. About OFWs, this is set in a place in Samar (where the film was shot on location) where cellphone signals can only be available while one is on top of a a place called Signal Rock. Starring Christian Bables, Elora Espano, Mon Confiado, Kokoy de Santos, Jomari Angeles, Nanding Jose and Ruby Ruiz.

“We Will Not Die Tonight” - An action thriller written and directed by RIchard Somes for Strawdogs Productions. Erich Gonzales does her own fight scenes and action stunts in this story of survival, co-starring Alex Medina, Paolo Paraiso and Maxine Eigenmann.

Three films that have won awards in other local festivals will be shown as special features: “Paki” (best picture winner in Cinema One Originals 2017), “Tu Pug Imatuy” (best picture winner in Sinag Maynila 2017), and “High Tide” (best picture winner in ToFarm Filmfest 2017).

There’s also a short film competition for Sine Kabataan headed by Ice Seguerra. The entries are: “Alas-nuwebe ng Tanghali” by Enalyn Legaspi, “Anonymous Student Vlog: by Christian Babista, “Bahay-Bahayan” by Bryan Reyes, “Bato Bato Pick” by Ardinian Sanque and Lorya Plaza, “Isang Tula Para sa Nawawala” by Rodemille Singh, “Koleksyong Pamalo” by Len Frago, “Masaya Ako” by Daniel Delgado” and “Runner” by Levi Miscala.

There will be a PPP kick off on August 3, PPP Pista at the Park, All Star Caravan and Grand Fans Day at Quezon City Memorial Circle on August 11, Opening Night on August 14 and Thanksgiving Night on August 19, with the stars also doing
 school and mall tours.