<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jul 23, 2017

Indie Film 'Women Of The Weeping River' Is The Big Winners In The Urian Awards Held Last Thursday At ABS-CBN's Studio 10 And Aired Live On Cinema One

THE AWARDS season is truly upon us. After the Eddy Awards, the Urian Awards were given out last Thursday night at ABS-CBN’s Studio 10 and the top winner is “Women of the Weeping River,” the tale of two women who try their best to stop the violence between feuding families in their Muslim community. It won the most number of awards, including best picture and the best screenplay, best director awards for Sheron Dayoc. The film previously won the best picture award at the QC Filmfest last October 2016. This time, it also won the Urian best supporting actress award for Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans; best cinematography for Rommel Sales; and best editing for Carlo Francisco Manatad.

Hasmine Killip won best actress as the street kid whose baby is kidnapped in “Pamilya Ordinaryo”. She now lives in London with her British husband so it’s her director, Eduardo Roy, who received her trophy for her. Paolo Ballesteros won best actor for his performance in Jun Robles Lana’s “Die Beautiful” as a transgender who perennially join gay beauty pageants. Christian Bables won best supporting actor as Paolo’s loyal best friend. They were both present to personally accept their trophies.

“Saving Sally” won the best production design award for Erik Manalo, Rommel Laquian and Rocketsheep Studio. Jemma Pamintuan won best music for“Tuos”, Mark Laccay won best sound for “Hinulid.” “Sunday Beauty Queen” won as best documentary.

This year’s recipient of the Natatanging Gawad Urian is Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto. She was there to personally accept her award with husband, Sen. Ralph Recto and son Ryan Christian.

After the Urian, the next award-giving body to distribute their trophies will be the Philippine Movie Press Club with their Star Awards. They’ve released their list of nominees. There are ten nominees each for the best actor and best actress award and there are separate nominations for mainstream films and for indie films. Their awards night is scheduled on September 3.