<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jan 3, 2017

Last Part 0f Our Yearender: Other Showbiz Events In 2016

 IT WAS AN election year and many celebrities ran for public office. In the senate, those who won include Tito Sotto, Manny Pacquiao and Ate Vi’s hubby Ralph Recto. Those who lost are Edu Manzano, Alma Moreno, Isko Moreno, Mark Lapid and Rey Langit.

In the lower house, those who won include Vilma Santos of Batangas, Monsour del Rosario of Makati, Alfred Vargas of QC, Yul Servo of Manila, Lucy Torres of Ormoc City.

As councilors, those who won in Quezon City include Vico Sotto (son of Vic and Coney Reyes), Gian and Lala Sotto (children of Tito and Helen Gamboa), Roderick Paulate. In Makati, Jhong Hilario and Rico Puno made it. In Paranaque, those who won as councilors include Anjo and brothers Jomari and Ryan Yllana, singer Roselle Nava and Vandolph Quizon. Charee Pineda got re-elected in Valenzuela.

As mayor, Cristina “Kring Kring” Gonzales won in Tacloban City while Richard Gomez won in Ormoc City and Lani Mercado in Bacoor. Herbert Bautista of QC and Erap Estrada of Manila got re-elected. Andrea del Rosario won as Calatagan vice mayor. Alex Castro won as Bulacan provincial board member. Phillip Salvador lost to Daniel Fernando as Bulacan vice governor. Jolo Revilla also won as Cavite vice governor.

Those who ran and lost include Daisy Reyes as Pateros mayor, Jason Abalos as councilor in Pantabangan, Nueva Ecija, Ronnie Ricketts as Muntinlupa congressman, ER Ejercito as Laguna governor and Angelica Jones as Laguna vice governor. Imelda Papin run for congress in Camarines Sur and lost but she has filed a protest.

MANY ACTRESSES AND ACTORS brought honors to the country by winning awards in international film festivals. Jaclyn Jose won as best actress at the Cannes Filmfest for “Ma Rosa”. LJ Reyes won best actress at the 13th Pacific Meridian International Film Festival in Vladivostok, Russia. Therese Malvar won best actress at the Moscow Filmfest for “Hamog”. Barbie Forteza won best actress at the 36th Fantasporto International Film Festival at Oporto, Portugal for “Laut”, which also won the Special Mention Jury Prize. Cherie Gil won best  actress at Madrid Filmfest for “Mana”.

Hasmine Killip won best actress at Asian Pacific Screen Awards in Brisbane, Australia and at the Hanoi Filmfest for “Pamilya Ordinaryo”, whose director Eduardo Roy also won as best director in Hanoi. Lotlot de Leon won a special acting award for the movie “1st Sem” at the All Lights Filmfest in Hyderabad, India.

  Paolo Ballesteros won best actor at the Tokyo Filmfest for “Die Beautiful”.
Allen Dizon won best actor at Silk Road Filmfest in Dublin, Ireland for “Iadya Mo Kami”. Sid Lucero won best actor at the 19th Los Angeles Comedy Festival Awards for “Toto”, which also won as best foreign language film. Lav Diaz’ 4-hour “Ang Babaeng Humayo” won the best picture Golden Lion Prize at the Venice Filmfest. His 8-hour “Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis” won the Silver Bear Prize at the Berlin Filmfest. His short film, “Ang Araw Bago ang Wakas” won the principal prize at the International Short Filmfest in Germany and the best feature prize at Tabor Filmfest in Croatia. Louie Ignacio’s “Area” won the Special Jury Prize at Eurasia International Filmfest in Kazakhstan.