<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

May 28, 2016

Maestro Ryan Cayabyab Announces The Interpreters Of The 12 Songs Finalists In Philpop Songwriter Competition To Be Held At KIA Theater On July 23

MAESTRO RYAN CAYABYAB proudly reveals the exciting lineup of top interpreters for this year’s Philpop #Songwriter Competition at Hive Hotel. “We’re so proud of this year’s batch of entries kasi puro magaganda, wala kang itatapon,” he says. “Lahat ng songs, puedeng manalo. Tiyak na mahihirapan ang judges pumili kung which songs ang papanalunin nila.”

Also launched is the 2016 digital album of all the song entries on Spotify and the commemorative special edition book, “PhilPop: Loud, Proud, Ours”, written by Tina Dumlao. Twelvesongwriters are competing for the much-coveted PhilPop 2016 Grand Prize on July 23 at the Kia Theater in Quezon City.

And here are the interpreters, the #composers and the 12 songs that are competing: Nyoy Volante for Jeroel Maranan’s “Sintunado”, A Capella Go and Jimmy Marquez for JC Jose’s “Stars Are Aligned”, Itchyworms for Jazz Nicolas and Wally Acolola’s “Di Na Muli”, Kenjhons for Karl Gaurano and Daryl Reyes’ “Friday Night”, Cookie Chua and Bayang Barrios for Miguel and Paolo Guico’s “Tinatangi”. The Juans for Johann Garcia’s “Binibini Sa MRT”, Ramiru Mataro for his own “Kahon”, Sugar And Spice for Joan Da’s “Baliw Sa Ex-boyfriend Ko”, Monica Cuenco for Keiko Necesario’s “Nobody But You”, Banda Ni Kleggy for Aikee Aplacador’s “Pabili Po, Yassi Pressman for Mike Villegas and Brian Cua’s “Dumadagundong”, and Jason Dy for Soc Villanueva’s “Lahat”.

Now on its 5th year, PhilPop continues to brim with intense musical zeal, just like on the very day it was conceptualized and founded in 2012. And the vision “to renew life and focus on the local music industry” remains.

PhilPop Chairman Manuel V. Pangilinan says, “We want to encourage songwriters to churn out original Filipino sound – to remind the world that Filipinos are not just great #singers and #performers, but also great songwriters; that Pinoy Pop deserves a spot on the world stage. This is why the MVP Group supports PhilPop and there’s still a lot of work to be done. We must on and not get discouraged. We should continue writing beautiful lyrics, melodies, harmonies. PhilPop will give our songwriters an opportunity to be heard. We are here to stay.”