<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jul 26, 2014

Philpop Music Festival Held Last Saturday Night At Meralco

THE PHILIPPINE Popular Music Festival (also known as Philpop) is a songwriting contest launched in 2012 with the foundation headed by Manny V. Pangilinan and future national artist for music Ryan Cayabyab. The top 12 finalists for PhilPop 2014 are: “Awit Mo’y Nandito Pa” by Toto Sorioso, sung by Aldrich Talonding and James Bucong; “Babalikan Mo Rin Ako” by Soc Villanueva, sung by Nikki Gil; “Dear Heart” Written by Mike Villegas, sung by Kiana Valenciano; “Hangout Lang” by Allan Feliciano and Isaac Garcia, sung by Duncan Ramos and Young JV; “Kung Akin ang Langit” by Chi Datu-Bocobo, sung by Mcoy Fundales and Clara Benin; “Langit Umaawit” again by Toto Sorioso, sung by Tom Rodriguez; “No Girlfriend Since Break” by Davey Langit, sung by Luigi D’ Avola; “Qrush on You” by Knowa Lazarus and Flava Matiks, sung by Jay-R, Elmo Magalona and Q-York; “Salbabida” by Jungee Marcelo, sung by Kyla; “The Only One” by Popsie San Pedro, sung by Thor Dulay; “Song on a Broken String” by Jude Gitamandoc and Therese Villarante, sung by Nicole Laurel Asensio; “Torpe” by Daryl Ong, sung by Kris Lawrence. All of these songs are exclusively available at Spinnr.ph and also on iTunes. There will be a Spinnr People’s Choice Awards based on the songs downloaded from Spinnr.

The finals was held at Meralco Theatre Saturday night, with the grand winner richer by P1 million and with a trophy from sculptor Ramon Orlina. The hosts were Christian Bautista, Yia Villania and Tim Yap, with Kuh Ledesma, Gary V, Julie Anne San Jose, Gloc 9, Denise Barbacena, Sam Concepcion and Tippy Dos Santos as guest performers, directed by Rico Gutierrez and with Marc Lopez as musical director.