<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Dec 28, 2012

The Metro-Manila Filmfest Awards Night Winners

ONCE AGAIN, Dingdong Dantes beats Gov. Jeorge ER Estregan as best actor in the Metro Filmfest. Last year, ER was hoping he’d win for “Asiong Salonga” but Dong bested him as the psychotic husband in “Segunda Mano”. This time, ER plays another real life character, Emilio Aguinaldo in “El Presidente”, and Dong bested him anew as the father of a sick boy in “One More Try”.

Dingdong was not around when his name was called so it’s Director Ruel Bayani of “One More Try” who claimed the trophy for him, saying he’s on the way to the venue, Meralco Theatre. “Natrapik lang ho sa C5,” says Direk Ruel.

Host Kris Aquino later announced he has already arrived and called Dong upstage. Last year, he was also absent when he won for the first time. Now, well, better late than never. Dong was busy taping “Pahiram ng Sandali” in Tagaytay and he rushed from there to attend the awards night. He thanked almost everyone, including his family, but forgot to mention GF Marian Rivera.

“One More Try”, “El Presidente” and “Thy Womb” got the most number of awards. “One More Try” won five trophies: best picture, best screenplay, best actor for Dingdong, best editing for Vito Cajilig and Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence (FPJ must be turning in his grave.)

“El Presidente” also won seven trophies: 2nd best picture, best supporting actor for Cesar Montano, best theme song for Apl de Ap, best musical score for Jesse Lasaten, best float, and best sound for Michael Idioma.

“Thy Womb” won seven awards: the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award, Most Gender Sensitive Award, best director for Dante Mendoza, best original story for Henry Burgos, best actress for Nora Aunor, best cinematography for Odyssey Flores (very deserving) and best production design also for Dante Mendoza.

It’s Ate Guy’s 8th filmfest best actress trophy. She last won in 1995 for “Muling Umawit ang Puso”. She first won in 1978 for “Atsay”, then in “Ina Ka ng Anak Mo” (1979), “Himala” (1982), “Bulaklak sa City Jail” (1984), “Andrea, Paano Maging Isang Ina” (1990) and “Totoong Buhay ni Pacita M.” (1991).

“Sisterakas” won two awards: 3rd best picture and best supporting actress for Wilma Doesnt. (Honestly, we believe the most deserving is Mylene Dizon in “Sosy Problems”, but she was bypassed totally and not even nominated.)

“Shake, Rattle & Roll 14” won the best special effects award (also very deserving.)

In the New Wave category, the winners are “The Grave Bandits” for best picture, “Ad Ignorantiam” for Jury Prize, Tyron Acierto as best director for “Grave Bandits”, Liza Dino as best actress in her role as a dancer torn between love and her craft in “In Nomine Matris”, Alan Paule as best actor in his role as the understanding father of a gay son in “Gayak” and most gender sensitive award for “In Nomine Matris”.

Special awards were given to ex-Pres. Joseph Estrada as male star of the night and Nora Aunor as female star of the night (looking very butch in her white pant suit). Erap was also the presentor when the best actress trophy was given to Ate Guy. Obviously, they’ve kissed and made up after Ate Guy sided with Gloria Arroyo when Erap was ousted from Malacanang. Male and female celebrities of the night are Zanjoe Marudo and Bianca King. The awards night was hosted by KC Concepcion and a daring Kris Aquino whose plunging neckline exposes half of her boobies.