<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jul 30, 2012

Cinemalaya Award Winners

THE FOUR ACTRESSES who topbill “Mga Mumunting Lihim”, Judy Ann Santos, Iza Calzado, Janice de Belen and Iza Calzado portraying women who are the best of friends and enemies, all won in the best actress category of the Cinemalaya Awards Nights’ Directors Showcase held last rainy Sunday night at the CCP. They all deserve it for their fine ensemble acting, like what we wrote in our review of the film. As predicted by a lot of people, Eddie Garcia as the grumpy old gay in “Bwakaw” won as best actor. The best supporting actor was Art Acuna as the menacing police officer in “Posas” (he also won in this category last year for “Nino”.) No one won as best supporting actress. Best picture was “Posas” of Quantum Films, about corruption among our law enforcers.

In the New Breed Category, best actress was Ama Quiambao as the lonely mom of five sons in “Diablo” and best actor was Kristoffer King as the man who uses the dead for a living in “Oros”. Best supporting actress and actor were Anita Linda as the senile grandma in “Sta. Nina” and Joross Gamboa as the young man who gets back at his abusive stepdad in “Intoy Syokoy”. Best picture was “Diablo”, about a mom and her five sons which we found such tedious viewing.

Here are the other winners. For Directors Showcase: Best screenplay (by Joey Reyes) and best editing – “Mga Mumunting Lihim”. Best production design, best cinematography and best sound – “Kalayaan”. Best musical score, special jury prize and best direction (by Raymond Red) - “Kamera Obskura”. Audience award and Netpac Award – “Bwakaw”.

For New Breed category: Best editing – “The Animals”. Best sound – “Aparisyon”. Best musical score and Audience choice award – “Ang Nawawala”. Best production design – “Intoy Syokoy”. Best screenplay and special Jury prize – “Requieme”. Best cinematography, best direction (by Mes de Guzman), and Netpac Award – “Diablo”.

For the short film category: Best director - Sheron Dayoc. Best screenplay - “Paghihintay sa Bulong”. Best short film - “Victor”. Audience choice award – “Ruweda”.