<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Sep 18, 2011

37th MMFF pays tribute to independent films

DID YOU KNOW that the last four films rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board: “Babae sa Septic Tank”, “Zombadings”, “Thelma” and La Salle's "Paglipad ng Anghel" that has yet to be shown theartrically? In contrast, mainstream films like “Wedding Tayo”, “My Neighbor’s Wife” and “Tween Academy” only got B ratings. It’s no wonder then that this year’s 37th Metro-Manila Filmfest is giving it due importance in its Independents Section. They’ll pay tribute to indie films that will be shown from December 18 to 21 at the Robinson’s Galleria. Five feature length films (60 to 115 minutes) and 10 student short films (not more than 12 minutes) from various universities all over the country will be shown. They must be made from January to October 31 this year, not has been shown in any theatre, with Filipino content and cast, not produced by a major TV network or film company. Pinoys based abroad who made films with Filipino content can also join. Deadline of submission of entries is October 30, 2011.

Entries to the student short film must be accompanied by an endorsement letter from their principal, dean or dept. Head saying it’s their school’s official entry to Metro filmfest. Five jurors will choose the winners. The director of the best feature will get P100,000 while the school of the best student film wins P25,000. The Quezon City Film Commission represented by Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte will choose the most gender-sensitive films. The chairman of the Independent Film Committee is Mark Meily, who helmed such award winners as “Crying Ladies”, “Baler” and “Donor”.