<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script> <!-- Showbiz Portal Bottom 1 300x250, created 10/15/10 --> <ins class="adsbygoogle" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px" data-ad-client="ca-pub-1272644781333770" data-ad-slot="2530175011"></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>
Mario Bautista, has been with the entertainment industry for more than 4 decades. He writes regular columns for People's Journal and Malaya.

Jan 27, 2011

Charlene Gonzales is sculptor's choice for UST monument

CHARLENE GONZALES is proud to be chosen by renowned sculptor Ramon Orlina to be one of the models of her alma mater UST’s Quatro Mondial 10-meter high monument made of bronze and carved solid glass blocks to be unveiled today commemorating the 400th centennial anniversary of the University of Sto. Tomas. Charlene represents the Academician who holds the Book of Knowledge to exemplify Erudition. Charlene was a dean’s lister when she majored in psychology at the UST. Her plan was to later pursue medicine proper but this was sidelined by showbiz and her subsequent marriage to Aga Muhlach. In high school, she was a valedictorian in the U.S. and also took some courses in UCLA. Mr. Orlina said he personally chose Charlene as she is a combination of beauty, brains and talent, plus she has a wholesome image not only as an actress and TV host but also as wife to Aga and mother to their twins. As such, she’ll be a perfect role model for the UST community and all its alumni.

“I’m honored to be part of Mr. Orlina’s sculpture that represents UST’s 400 years of excellence in education and spirituality,” says Charlene. “I gained so much knowledge and experience in my years with UST and I’m proud to be a UST graduate.”

The other models for the three other figures in the monument are UST Rector Rev. Fr. De la Rosa as a priest, Piolo Pascual as a male student and Monina Orlina as a female student. Among movie journalists, prominent graduates of UST are Ethel Ramos, Nestor Cuartero, Mario Hernando and Butch Francisco.